Festival Casals de Puerto Rico 2007

This weekend will mark the 51st opening of the Pablo Casals Festival in Centro de Bellas Artes Luis A. Ferre. Started by Pablo Casals (December 29, 1876 – October 22, 1973), himself back in 1956, the festival always brings the most talented musicians from around the world.

Casals was born in El Vendrell, Catalonia (Spain) to his father, Carles Casals i Ribes, a parish organist and choirmaster and his mother, Pilar Defilló de Casals, who was born in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico of Catalan ancestry. Casals moved to Puerto Rico in 1956, making San Juan, permanent residence. He died in 1973 in San Juan at the age of 96. In 1979 his remains were laid to rest in his home town of El Vendrell, Catalonia. Here is a famous Casals quote to ponder on:

"The love of one's country is a splendid thing. But why should love stop at the border?"
The Pablo Casals Museum, located in the Plaza San José in Old San Juan, is the custodian of the recordings of Casals and transports us back to the concerts given by the Maestro and the many talented musicians from previous festivals. In addition the museums owns many other videos that contain the participation of the Maestro Pablo Casals as soloist and director.

Running from February 10th, until March 3rd, 2007. The first week of performances is described here, with ticket information below:

  • Saturday, February 10, 2007
    Festival Hall
    8:00 pm

    Puerto Rico Symphony Orchestra

    Yoav Talmi, Guest Conductor
    Measha Brueggergosman, Soprano
    Casals Festival Chorus, Jo-Anne Herrero, Chorus Director


    H. Berlioz.- Le Corsaire Overture, Op. 21
    H. Berlioz.- Les Nuits d’été, Op. 7


    G. Fauré - Pavane for orchestra and chorus ad lib in F-sharp minor, Op. 50
    M. Ravel - Daphnis et Cloé, Suites no. 1 and 2 (with chorus)
  • Sunday, February 11, 2007
    Drama Hall
    4:00 pm



    S. Prokofiev - Overture on Jewish Themes, Op. 34
    W. A. Mozart - Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581


    O. Messiaen - L’abîme des oiseaux (Abyss of the Birds) from the third movement of the Quartet for the End of Time
    D. Shostakovich - Piano quintet in G minor, Op. 57
  • Tuesday, February 13, 2007
    Drama Hall
    8:00 pm

    Meira Farkas, pianist


    W. A. Mozart - Rondo in A minor, K. 511
    L. v . Beethoven - Piano Sonata no. 8 in C minor, Op. 13 (Grand Sonate Pathetique)
    F. Schubert - 3 pieces for piano, D. 946


    F. Schubert - Piano Sonata in B-flat major, D. 960
  • Thursday, February 15, 2007
    Drama Hall
    8:00 pm

    Moscow String Quartet
    Eugenia Alikhanova, violin 1
    Galina Kokhanovskaya, violin 2
    Tatiana Kokhanovskaya, viola
    Olga Ogranovitch, cello


    A. Borodin - String quartet no. 2 in D major
    Allegro moderato
    Scherzo. Allegro
    Notturno. Andante
    Finale. Andante. Vivace
    D. Shostakovich - String quartet no. 7, Op. 108
    Allegro. Allegretto


    P. I. Tchaikovsky - String quartet no. 2 in F major, Op. 22
    Adagio. Moderato assai, quasi andantino
    Allegro giusto
    Andante, ma non tanto
    Allegro con moto
Ticket Information

CBA - 787-620-4444
Ticket Center - 787-792-5000

Closing Night Concert

Saturday, March 3, 2007
Antonio Paoli Hall

Orchestra Seats - $100, $70, $50
Mezzanine - $30, $20.


Festival Hall
Orchestra Seats - $36
Mezzanine - $26

Drama Hall
Orchestra Seats - $30
Mezzanine - $20


Discounts for persons above 60 and 75 years of age apply by law to residents of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. / Students shall also receive the customary discounts of 50%. / Adults with children 12 years old and under will receive a free ticket. / APOS members shall receive a 5% discount. / Benefits apply on one offer only. / ID required.

For details 787-721-7727 Ext. 5418, 2530